Task Force


View the Task Force roster and Mission Statement, and learn how to contact the Task Force.



Maureen Kelly
Co-Chair, ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force

Claudia Rast
Co-Chair, ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force


Jin-Ho King, Judicial Division

Michelle Gallardo, Member at Large, HARMAN International

Odies Williams, Section on Civil Rights and Social Justice

Erin Illman, Business Law Section

Timothy Zintak, Standing Committee on Disaster Response and Preparedness

Kari Petrasek, Standing Committee on Technology and Information Systems

Mark Strain, Infrastructure and Regulated Industries Section

Sandeep Kathuria,  Section of Public Contract Law

Adriana Suringa Luedke, Section of Intellectual Property Law

Lorelie Masters, Section of Litigation

Patrice Malloy, Member at Large, Florida Office of the Attorney General

Allison Ahroni, Standing Committee on Lawyers' Professional Liability

Norman A. Dupont, Section of Environment, Energy and Resources

James O'Reilly, Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice

Paul Rosenzweig, Standing Committee on Law and National Security

Alice Richmond, Solo, Small Firm, and General Practice Division

Dan Siegel, Law Practice Division

Ty Kayam, Health Law Section

Ken Rashbaum, Section of International Law

Larry Schiffer, Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section

Stephen Wu, Science & Technology Law Section

Deon Woods Bell, Antitrust Law Section

Rick Martinez,  Member at Large, Danaher

Camille Stewart, Criminal Justice Section

Lucian Pera, Center for Professional Responsibility

David Wheeler, Section of State and Local Government Law

Ben GriffithRule of Law Initiative

Al HarveySenior Lawyers Division

Special Advisors

Judith Miller, Special Advisor

Harvey Rishikof, Special Advisor

Ruth Hill Bro, Special Advisor


Charlene Collazo Goldfield, Young Lawyers Division

Christopher Frascella, Law Student Division

Hon. John Allen, Cook County, Illinois

Eric Hibbard, PrivSec Consulting LLC

Sandra Hodgkinson, DRS Technologies

James Andrew Lewis, Center for Strategic & International Studies

Robert Litt, Morrison & Foerster LLP

Karen Painter Randall, Connell Foley LLP

Harriet Pearson, Hogan Lovells LLP

Jill Rhodes, Option Care Health

Sheila Slocum Hollis, ABA Board of Governors

Thomas J. Smedinghoff, Locke Lord LLP

Suzanne Spaulding, Center for Strategic & International Studies

Lucy Thomson, Livingston PLLC

Roland Trope, Trope & Schramm LLP

David Turetsky, University of Albany

Lai Sun Yee, Federal Emergency Management Agency Region II

Mission Statement

The Cybersecurity Legal Task Force shall consist of two co-chairs, one representative from each ABA entity with an interest in cybersecurity issues, three members at large, and three special advisors.  It may include non-lawyer experts. The Task Force shall have jurisdiction over matters affecting how lawyers protect their practices and their clients’ confidential information and intellectual property during a cyberattack. In carrying out its responsibilities, the Task Force shall:

1)       facilitate collaboration and information exchanges among constituent ABA entities and with relevant public agencies and private organizations;

2)       serve as a clearinghouse among ABA entities regarding cybersecurity activities, policy proposals, advocacy, publications and resources;

3)       study and analyze executive and legislative branch cybersecurity proposals;

4)       identify cyber-related issues for appropriate action by the ABA, including filling gaps in policy, encouraging ABA entities to develop new policy as appropriate, and sharing best practices with members and their law firms;

5)       advise and assist the ABA Governmental Affairs Office on cybersecurity advocacy and responses to government action;

6)       educate members of the bar and the public on cybersecurity risks, how to protect data, and how to respond to a cyberattack. 

Message from Past ABA President Laurel Bellows

"We live In a world where our national security is threatened by cyberterrorists, and where private enterprise is forced to respond to cybertheft of intellectual property on a daily basis. The ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force is examining risks posed by criminals, terrorists and nations that seek to steal personal and financial information, disrupt critical infrastructure, and wage cyberwar.  When our national security and economy are threatened, lawyers will not stand on the sidelines."

Contact Us

Holly McMahon (Director)
(202) 662-1035

Sally Heuker (Staff Attorney)
(202) 662-1695